Sad to see them go: incumbents that didn’t make it this cycle

Although I know I shouldn’t still be moping about November 6th’s election, it has been a rough week, seeing more results come in, and seeing more of my favorite incumbents lose their seats in Congress and here in the New Mexico House.

Republicans lost some of the most incredible and talented GOP lawmakers in a generation in the U.S. House. Long-time incumbents like Pete Sessions (R-TX) and Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA), as well as newer members like Mimi Walters (R-CA), Barbara Comstock (R-VA), Mia Love (R-UT), Dave Brat (R-VA), Bruce Poliquin (R-VA)*, and Carlos Curbelo (R-FL), lost their seats. With each loss, most recently that of Mimi Walters, it angered me that such great talents were unseated by inexperienced, far-left extremists with socialism on their agenda.

*Bruce Poliquin’s race shows he is losing with the “ranked choice voting,” however he may sue for a recount.

Here is my list of the saddest incumbent losses this election in the U.S. House:

Congressman Pete Session (R-TX)
Congressman Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA)
Congresswoman Mimi Walters (R-CA)
Congresswoman Mia Love (R-UT)
Congresswoman Barbara Comstock (R-VA)
Congressman Carlos Curbelo (R-FL)










Congressman Dave Brat (R-VA)
Congressman Bruce Poliquin (R-ME)

In the U.S. Senate, one of my favorite incumbent senators, Dean Heller (R-NV) lost his seat, and I have been taking it hard for sure. He was an incredible senator, who reached across the aisle when he had to and championed many infrastructure bills that were signed into law. He will be sorely missed, especially since he was replaced by “Wacky Jacky” Rosen in the Senate. May God help the poor people of Nevada. Maybe we don’t have it so bad in New Mexico.

Senator Dean Heller (R-NV)

Nix what I just said. We actually do have it pretty bad here in New Mexico, with some of the most incredible people in our lower House leaving us, and being replaced by (you guessed it) radical left-wing extremists. We lost Sharon Clahchischilliage (R-Shiprock), Jim Dines (R-Alb.), Jimmie Hall (R-Alb.), David Adkins (R-Alb.), Rick Little (R-Chaparral), and Monica Youngblood (R-Alb.) this election, and it’s going to be a rough legislative session come January. I just hope that with Rep. Montoya who (probably) will serve as Minority Leader, the GOP can give the Democrats absolute hell when trying to pass their socialist agenda. I remember working in House Judiciary Committee back when the GOP had control, and the Democrats did all they could to stop Republican legislation, no matter how moderate it was.

With the scariest person in the House, Speaker Brian Egolf in charge, it’s going to be a very eventful session. Let’s hope someone finally gives that arrogant man a piece of their mind. I sure would love to.

Here is my list of the saddest incumbent losses in the New Mexico House:

Monica Youngblood (R-Alb.)
Rick Little (R-Chaparral)
Rep. Sharon Clahchischilliage (R-Shiprock)
Rep. David Adkins (R-Alb.)
Rep. Jimmie C. Hall (R-Alb.)
Jim Dines (R-Alb.)











Rep. Rick Little (R-Chaparral)

So, we lost a lot of good men and women. It’s been a rough election, even though Republicans retained the Senate. Hopefully, some of the people who lost reelection can use their free time to plan their next campaign for their old seat or higher office. Maybe losing could be a blessing in disguise for them, who knows.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top